Cora and John Sparrowk President’s Award

ABCUSA > Cora and John Sparrowk President’s Award

About the Cora and John Sparrowk President’s Award

The Cora and John Sparrowk President’s Award is presented to an American Baptist individual who has, over a period of years, made an exceptional and outstanding contribution to the life of Christ’s church, and who, in life and service, manifests richly the fruits and gifts of the Spirit. The award is supported by an endowment established by Cora and John Sparrowk. Cora Sparrowk served at one time as President of American Baptist Churches.

Nominations are received by members of the Board of the General Ministries. A recipient is selected by the board president in consultation with the vice president and immediate past president, who is then confirmed by the board’s executive committee.

The award recipients typically is presented with this award at the ABCUSA Biennial Mission Summit, which occurs in June, odd-numbered years.

Current 2023 Recipient

Rev. Kathryn Choy-Wong

Read about our award recipient here.

Past Recipients

2021      Albert Paul Brinson
2019      Charles and Marie Mercer
2017      Emilie Margaret Ballard & Newton Old Crow, Sr. (2 recipients)
2015      David G. Gnirk
2013      Andrew and Beverly Davison
2011      Yosh Nakagawa
2009      Robert and Margene Phares
2007      Judge Albert Matthews
2005      Charles and Barbara Chicks
2003      Loris B. Coletta
2001      Martha Cortner Pixley
1999      Veronica Lanier
1997      Gilbert Brink
1995      Eric & Hazel Stettner
1993      Richard Brownlee
1991      Astrid Peterson
1989      Lily Lawrence Lyons
1987      Jimmie A. Morrison
1985      Norman E. Joslin
1983      Esther Davis
1981      Elizabeth P. Caudill