Mowbray Ecumenical Award Nominations Invited, Deadline Extended

ABCUSA > In the Spotlight > Mowbray Ecumenical Award Nominations Invited, Deadline Extended

Mowbray Ecumenical Award Nominations Invited, Deadline Extended

VALLEY FORGE, PA (ABNS 10/10/22)—American Baptist Churches USA seeks nominations for the Luke Mowbray Ecumenical Award, which recognizes an individual for outstanding ecumenical work at the local, state, national or international level, either as a volunteer or paid professional. The award will be presented at the American Baptist Churches USA (ABCUSA) 2023 Biennial Mission Summit in San Juan PR, June 23-25, 2023. The deadline for nominations has been extended until October 21, 2022. Questions may be directed to Iris Cobb at 1-800-222-3872, x2280 or at 610-768-2280 or by email at

The award will be given to an individual who either by sustained performance or special achievement has advanced the cause of ecumenism. The award is specifically limited to an assigned area of program that falls within the basic goals of the American Baptist Churches USA. The individual receiving this award must be a member of an American Baptist church.

The award, presented at the ABCUSA Committee on Christian Unity and Interfaith Relations Biennial Dinner, includes:

  • A Plaque
  • A $500 Honorarium
  • Travel expenses to the Biennial Mission Summit

Nominations must include:

  1. a completed Nomination Form;
  2. a statement of no more than 1,000 words explaining how the ministry of the nominee meets the specific criteria for the award; and
  3. three items of supporting material:
    – a letter or statement from another person affirming the nomination,
    – an article about the nominee’s ministry, and
    – a sample of the nominee’s writing.

The ABCUSA Committee on Christian Unity and Interfaith Relations will review the nominations and select the recipient in November 2022. The recipient will be notified.  In addition, the name of the recipient will be published in the Biennial Mission Summit Program Book.  Each of the other nominees will receive a Certificate of Recognition.

Award Background:  Mr. and Mrs. Luke and Edna Mowbray lived on a farm near Pratt, Kansas.  They were dedicated American Baptists who helped other farmers during difficult times.  When Mr. Mowbray passed away in 1972, Mrs. Mowbray requested that an annual memoriam be established in his name.  There have been 25 award recipients since 1975.

Nominations for the 2023 award may be submitted by email or mail by October 21, 2022:

  • Email to:; or
  • Mail, postmarked by October 14, 2022 to:
    American Baptist Churches USA
    Attn: Iris Cobb, PO Box 851, Valley Forge, PA 19482-0851.

Please contact Iris Cobb with questions at 1-800-222-3872, x2280 or at 610-768-2280.

American Baptist Churches is one of the most diverse Christian denominations today, with approximately 5,000 local congregations comprised of 1.3 million members, across the United States and Puerto Rico, all engaged in God’s mission around the world.