UPDATE: ABHMS to present ministry awards at ABCUSA 2015 Biennial Mission Summit

ABCUSA > In the Spotlight > UPDATE: ABHMS to present ministry awards at ABCUSA 2015 Biennial Mission Summit

UPDATE: ABHMS to present ministry awards at ABCUSA 2015 Biennial Mission Summit

VALLEY FORGE, PA (ABNS 5/29/15)—Rep. Barbara Lee of California’s 13th Congressional District will receive the Edwin T. Dahlberg Peace and Justice Award Saturday, June 27, during the evening plenary worship at American Baptist Churches USA (ABCUSA) 2015 Biennial Mission Summit, not at American Baptist Home Mission Societies’ (ABHMS) Saturday luncheon as previously reported.

The award will be presented by Dr. Aidsand F. Wright-Riggins III, ABHMS executive director, along with Dr. J. Alfred Smith Jr., pastor of the historic Allen Temple Baptist Church, Oakland, Calif., as part of the biennial  event to take place June 26-28 in Overland Park/Kansas City, Kan.

Wright-Riggins and Lois Chiles, vice president of ABHMS’ board of directors, will present the Suzan Johnson Cook Religious Freedom Award to Chin Baptist Churches USA and Karen Baptist Churches USA during plenary worship at 7 p.m. on Friday, June 26.

During ABHMS’ luncheon at 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, June 27, the following awards will be presented:

• the Kenneth L. Cober Regional Discipleship Award to the Rev. Dr. Marcia Patton, first executive minister of Evergreen Association of American Baptist Churches;

• the Richard Hoiland Local Christian Education Award to the Rev. Dr. Loida Martell-Otero, professor of Constructive Theology at Eastern University’s Palmer Theological Seminary, King of Prussia, Pa.;

• the Newton C. Fetter Higher Education and Campus Ministry Award to the Rev. Dr. John Holzhüter, chaplain at Ottawa (Kan.) University;

• the Luther Wesley Smith Education Award to the Rev. Dr. Denise Janssen, assistant professor of Christian Education at Samuel DeWitt Proctor School of Theology at Virginia Union University, Richmond;

• the Rosa O. Hall Rural and Small Town Award to Sandra Spaulding, pastor of both Lakeville Baptist Church, Argyle, N.Y., and Bottskill Baptist Church, Greenwich, N.Y.;

• the Jitsuo Morikawa Evangelism Award to Herb Tsuchiya, past president of what is now known as the Asian American Baptist Alliance; and

• the Paul W. Strickland Institutional Chaplaincy Merit Award to the Rev. Dr. John “Jack” Gleason, editor of the “Pastoral Caregiver’s Casebook,” volumes 1-2 (Judson Press, 2015).

These faithful and committed American Baptist ministries, disciples and servants are testimony to the incarnation of God’s love and presence among us. American Baptists continue to touch communities and individuals across the United States and Puerto Rico with the peace and power of Jesus Christ, and ABHMS is proud to affirm and celebrate them.

For more information about ABHMS Mission Summit programming and activities, visit www.abhms.org.

Register for Mission Summit online at www.americanbaptists2015.com.

ABHMS—the domestic mission arm of American Baptist Churches USA—ministers as the caring heart and serving hands of Jesus Christ across the United States and Puerto Rico through a multitude of initiatives that focus on discipleship, community and justice.

American Baptist Churches USA is one of the most diverse Christian denominations today, with over 5,200 local congregations comprised of 1.3 million members, across the United States and Puerto Rico, all engaged in God’s mission around the world.