1001:4/12 BGM 22 – BGM 24

American Baptist Churches in the U.S.A. BOARD OF GENERAL MINISTRIES

Special Meeting of the Directors of the Board of General Ministries 11:00 a.m. Eastern Time; Teleconference Call

MINUTES: April 2, 2012



Ruth Clark, President Donald Ng, Vice President James Ratliff, Budget Review Officer Frank Christine, Jr., Past President

"American Baptists Serving as the Hands and Feet of Christ"

Scripture Focus: "As God's chosen ones, holy and beloved, clothe yourselves with compassion, kindness, humility, meekness, and patience. Bear with one another and, if anyone has a complaint against another, forgive each other; just as the Lord has forgiven you, so you also must forgive. Above all, clothe yourselves with love, which binds everything together in perfect harmony. And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in the one body. And be thankful. Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly; teach and admonish one another in all wisdom; and with gratitude in your hearts sing psalms, hymns, and spiritual songs to God." **Colossians 3:12-16**

BGM 22 WELCOME/ROLL CALL/PRAYER

ABC President Ruth Clark welcomed members of the Board of General Ministries. Marilyn Tyson, Office of the General Secretary, took roll call. A record of General Board members present for this meeting, which presented a quorum of voting members (25 of 37), is attached to the official copy of the minutes filed in the Office of the General Secretary.

ABC Vice-President Don Ng opened the meeting with prayer.

BGM 23 ELECTIONS AND APPOINTMENTS

<u>Election of Special Director to MMBB</u> Steven Case, who was approved as Special Director to MMBB by the Board of General Ministries at its meeting in Orlando, recently resigned. A motion was made by June Totten, seconded by Diane Steelman, and it was

<u>VOTED</u>: To elect Bill Frederickson as Special Director to MMBB.

Election of Chair of the Standing Rules Committee

Steve Case was also serving as Chair of the Standing Rules Committee, but due to his resignation, a motion was made by Mo Khan, seconded by Robin Crouch and it was:

<u>VOTED</u>: To elect Alan Rudnick as the Chair of the Standing Rules Committee.

Election of Nominating Committee

In order for the Board of General Ministries to elect regional directors to the Board, we must have a new nominating committee in place.

<u>VOTED</u>: To elect the following members of the Board of General Ministries to the ABCUSA Nominating Committee: Julia Bebeau Bill Frederickson Elmore Warren Nancy O'Neill Dean Parker Tasha Wilson

<u>Confirmation of Elected Members of the World Relief Committee</u> President Clark reported that ABHMS, ABWM and IM have elected members to the World Relief Committee and those elections are now coming to the Board of General Ministries for confirmation.

A motion was made by Dianne Steelman, seconded by Julia Bebeau and it was

<u>VOTED</u>: To confirm the election of the following members to the World Relief Committee:

ABHMS—Laura Sinclair, Scotty Robertson ABWM—Betty Holmes IM—Manuel Hernandez, Nancy Shaver

BGM 24 ADJOURNMENT

President Clark concluded the meeting with a prayer of blessing for this Holy Week.

Submited by,

. Ko

Rev. Dr. A. Roy Medley General Secretary

ARM/cb

<u>Documents attached</u>:

Agenda Official Attendance Record—April 2012 Conference Call