Latest News ABNSHeader6.19.15

Published on February 18th, 2016 | by ABCUSA

0

Young Adult Women Find Life Guidance through Biblical Women Mentors

VALLEY FORGE, PA (ABNS 2/18/16)—American Baptist Women’s Ministries and Judson Press are co-sponsoring a free webinar for young adult women (ages 18-35) with author Billie Montgomery/Cook to discuss her award-winning book Sisters of Scripture: Mentors in Womanhood.

Sisters of Scripture: Mentors in Womanhood ushers young women into a warm and welcoming relationship with the women of the Bible through the stories of women such as Eve, Sarah, and Vashti, encountering relationship, trust, and self-respect issues that many young women of today face. Inspiring, enlightening, and empowering, young women will see themselves in these stories and find hope, love, and faith.

During the webinar, participants will be invited to reflect with Cook on several topics addressed in the book, sharing their own insights as well as having the opportunity to ask questions of the author. The same webinar will be offered at three different times:

  • Tuesday, May 17, 2016, 12:00 p.m. Eastern/9:00 a.m. Pacific
  • Thursday, May 19, 2016, 3:00 p.m. Eastern/12:00 p.m. Pacific
  • Sunday, May 22, 2016, 5:00 p.m. Eastern/2:00 p.m. Pacific

Young adult women may choose the session that best fits their schedule. To register, click the date you are interested in attending:

“This webinar takes resourcing to the next level of connectivity and relationship. It creates a space for young women to build relationships—with one another, with an award-winning author who specifically addresses womanhood, and with the Scriptures that inform our faith. I’m grateful for the spirit of partnership between Judson Press and AB Women’s Ministries to invite a generation of young women to discover the intersections of their lives with women in the Bible,” said Virginia Holmstrom, executive director of American Baptist Women’s Ministries.

Sisters of Scripture won a silver award in the Devotionals category of the 2016 Illumination Book Awards. The book retails for $14.99 and is available from Judson Press by calling 800-458-3766 or ordering online at http://www.judsonpress.com/.

American Baptist Women’s Ministries is a Christ-centered ministry with a commitment to encourage and empower women and girls to serve God. Visit http://www.abwministries.org/ to learn more.

Founded in 1824, Judson Press is a publishing ministry of the American Baptist Home Mission Societies, American Baptist Churches USA. It is committed to producing Christ-centered leadership resources for the transformation of individuals, congregations, communities, and cultures.

American Baptist Churches USA is one of the most diverse Christian denominations today, with over 5,200 local congregations comprised of 1.3 million members, across the United States and Puerto Rico, all engaged in God’s mission around the world.

 


About the Author


Back to Top ↑